Home
Home Scholarship Teaching Connections Web Work Fun Stuff
English 323
Course Materials

Course Home Page
Discussion Board
Syllabus
Assignments
Policies

Syllabus


February | March | April | May |

Monday, January 21

First day: introductions and overview. Introductory points of history, Defoe's True-Born Englishman.

Wednesday, January 23

Reading

Anderson, Gellner, and Hobsbawm (bulkpack).

Assignment

This assignment, in two parts, is designed to get everyone acclimated to the discussion board right off the bat: first, post a paragraph about yourself in the designated forum. You can introduce yourself however you please, and you may repeat information from the first class. Second, post a reference to a passage in the readings that prompts you to make a comment or ask a question and tell us briefly why you chose the given passage. (You do not need to type the passage. Just provide a page reference and make clear what you're talking about.) This is meant to be a short assignment, not a full response.

Monday, January 28

Reading

Daniel Defoe's Tour (bulkpack).

Assignment

Group I Response: Comment either on Defoe's writing as a nation-building project or on this travel narrative as a distinctly literary piece of non-fiction.

Wednesday, January 30

Reading

Poems from Gray and Collins (bulkpack).

Assignment

Group II Response: Choose one of the poems and discuss the intersection of literary and national interest in that poem.

Monday, February 4

Reading

Trumpener, "Introduction: Harps Hung Upon the Willow" (Bardic Nationalism 3-36) and Colley, "Peripheries" (Britons 101-146).

Assignment

Group I Response: open response.

Wednesday, February 6

Reading

Stafford's Introduction and the Ossianic poems (bulkpack).

Assignment

Group II Response: open response.

Monday, February 11

Reading

In this order: McGann's Introduction and chapter, then the "Dissertation Concerning the Poems of Ossian" (bulkpack).

Assignment

Group I Response: Respond to McGann's argument in support of the merits of Ossianic poetry, giving your own examples supporting whatever your take is on his argument.

Wednesday, February 13

Reading

Davis, "Introduction: Acts of Union," "Narrating the '45: Henry Fielding, Tobias Smollett, and the Pretense of Fiction" and "Origin of the Specious" (bulkpack).

Assignment

Group II Response: open response.

Monday, February 18

Reading

Smollett, Humphry Clinker 1-78.

Assignment

Group I Response: open response.

Wednesday, February 20

Reading

Smollett, Humphry Clinker 79-117.

Assignment

Group II Response: open response.

Monday, February 25

Reading

Smollett, Humphry Clinker 118-201.

Assignment

Group I Response: open response.

Wednesday, February 27

Reading

Smollett, Humphry Clinker 202-230.

Assignment

Group II Response: open response.

Monday, March 4

Reading

Smollett, Humphry Clinker 231-310.

Assignment

Group I Response: Using the library catalog, find one article or book that discusses Humphry Clinker or Smollett's novels more generally. Spend an hour or so investigating the source, and then use your response to summarize quickly what your source says about the novel.

Wednesday, March 6

Reading

Smollett, Humphry Clinker 310-353.

Assignment

Group II Response: Do what Group I did for Monday.

Monday, March 11

Reading

Smith, from The Wealth of Nations (bulkpack).

Assignment

Group I Response: open response.

Wednesday, March 13

Reading

None: work on your papers. In class, I'll ask you all to share your paper projects, so be ready to talk about that for a few minutes.

Remember that the shorter paper is due before break.


SPRING BREAK
Monday, April 1

Reading

Samuel Johnson, A Journey to the Western Isles of Scotland.

Assignment

Group I Response: open response.

Wednesday, April 3

Reading

Thomas Boswell, Journey of a Tour to the Hebrides (selections TBA).

Assignment

Group II Response: open response.

Monday, April 8

Reading

Thomas Boswell, Journey of a Tour to the Hebrides (selections TBA) and Trumpener, Chapter 2 (67-127).

Assignment

Group I Response: open response.

Wednesday, April 10

Reading

Thomas Moore memoir and poems (bulkpack).

Assignment

Group II Response: open response.

PAPER PROSPECTUS DUE FRIDAY, APRIL 12

Monday, April 15

Reading

Maria Edgeworth, Castle Rackrent, Marilyn Butler's Introduction and first part (1-84).

Assignment

Group I Response: open response.

Wednesday, April 17

Reading

Castle Rackrent (85-138).

Assignment

Group II Response: open response.

Monday, April 22

Reading

Owenson (Morgan), The Wild Irish Girl (1-90).

Assignment

Group I Response: open response.

Wednesday, April 24

Reading

Owenson (Morgan), The Wild Irish Girl (91-130).

Assignment

Group II Response: open response.

ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY DUE FRIDAY, APRIL 26

Monday, April 29

Reading

Owenson (Morgan), The Wild Irish Girl (131-210).

Assignment

Group I Response: open response.

Wednesday, May 1

Reading

Owenson (Morgan), The Wild Irish Girl (211-252).

Assignment

Group II Response: open response.

Monday, May 6

Reading

Julia Anne Miller, Acts of Union: Family Violence and National Courtship in Maria Edgeworth's The Absentee and Sydney Owenson's The Wild Irish Girl (bulkpack) and Morri Safran, dissertation excerpt (handout).

Assignment

Group I Response: open response.

Wednesday, May 8

Last day: wrapping up.

FINAL PAPER DUE 12:00, TUESDAY, MAY 14