Rail yard background, from the Library of Congress


A Hypertext Resource for Literature

back one section Section back one page Page    Page 5.3.1    Page forward one page Section forward one section


Other people are more qualified and eager than I to compile information about the British monarchy. Therefore, the following links all lead to pages on britannia.com.

Monarchs of England

House of Wessex

Egbert (802-39)
Aethelwulf (839-55)
Aethelbald (855-60)
Aethelbert (860-6)
Aethelred (866-71)
Alfred the Great (871-99)
Edward the Elder (899-925)
Athelstan (925-40)
Edmund the Magnificent (940-6)
Eadred (946-55)
Eadwig (Edwy) All-Fair (955-59)
Edgar the Peaceable (959-75)
Edward the Martyr (975-78)
Aethelred the Unready (978-1016)
Edmund Ironside (1016)

Danish Line

Svein Forkbeard (1014)
Canute the Great (1016-35)
Harald Harefoot (1035-40)
Hardicanute (1040-42)

House of Wessex, Restored

Edward the Confessor (1042-66)
Harold II (1066)

Norman Line

William I the Conqueror (1066-87)
William II Rufus (1087-1100)
Henry I Beauclerc (1100-35)
Stephen (1135-54)
Empress Matilda (1141)

Plantagenet, Angevin Line

Henry II Curtmantle (1154-89)
Richard I the Lionheart (1189-99)
John Lackland (1199-1216)
Henry III (1216-72)
Edward I Longshanks (1272-1307)
Edward II (1307-27)
Edward III (1327-77)
Richard II (1377-99)

Plantagenet, Lancastrian Line

Henry IV Bolingbroke (1399-1413)
Henry V (1413-22)
Henry VI (1422-61, 1470-1)

Plantagenet, Yorkist Line

Edward IV (1461-70, 1471-83)
Edward V (1483)
Richard III Crookback (1483-5)

House of Tudor

Henry VII Tudor (1485-1509)
Henry VIII (1509-47)
Edward VI (1547-53)
Lady Jane Grey (1553)
Mary I Tudor (1553-58)
Elizabeth I (1558-1603)

House of Stuart

James I (1603-25)
Charles I (1625-49)

Monarchs of Great Britain

The Commonwealth

Oliver Cromwell (1649-58)
Richard Cromwell (1658-59)

House of Stuart, Restored

Charles II (1660-85)
James II (1685-88)

House of Orange and Stuart

William III, Mary II (1689-1702)

House of Stuart

Anne (1702-14)

House of Brunswick, Hanover Line

George I (1714-27)
George II (1727-60)
George III (1760-1820)
George IV (1820-30)
William IV (1830-37)
Victoria (1837-1901)

House of Saxe-Coburg-Gotha

Edward VII (1901-10)

House of Windsor

George V (1910-36)
Edward VIII (1936)
George VI (1936-52)
Elizabeth II (1952-present)

Historical Lists

Kings of Bernicia
Kings of Deheubarth
Kings of Deira
Kings of East Anglia
Kings of Essex
Kings of Glywysing
Kings of Gwynedd
Kings of Hwicce
Kings of the Isles
Kings of Kent
Kings of Lindsey
Kings of Magonset
English Kings of Man
Norse Kings of Man
Kings of Mercia
Kings of Morgannwg
Kings of Northumbria
Kings of Picts
Kings of Powys
Kings of Scots
Kings of South Gyrwe
Kings of Strathclyde
Kings of Surrey
Kings of Sussex
Kings of Wessex
Norse Kings of York

Legendary Lists

Legendary British Kings
Legendary Pictish Kings
Legendary Kings of Morgannwg

back one section Section back one page Page    Page 5.3.1    Page forward one page Section forward one section